top of page

PATCH
MANAGEMENT

automatics enables kernel and database patching in seconds.

patch management

3, 2, 1, PATCH!

Patch management is an important pillar of IT security. Regular updates help to maintain the functional condition and the highest possible security of the systems.

In addition, patches are also required to ensure optimal interaction between hardware and software. Security updates should be distributed to the systems as soon as possible to make it more difficult for third parties to exploit security vulnerabilities. 

Both SAP and other database manufacturers regularly release critical updates to fix software errors or known vulnerabilities. However, IT companies are often not able to install them on time for a variety of reasons (maintenance windows, throughput times, staff shortages). 

Keeping systems up-to-date operationally is an area that requires constant attention, especially with the diverse databases supported by SAP and the increasing distribution of database environments for high availability. 

Patch management is a multi-layered process in which all components of the SAP landscape must be continuously supplied with the latest updates.

With the SAP and database patch management, automatics offers a simple way of distributing and installing patches, taking into account all the necessary package and version validations. 

The effort involved in rolling out the patches is kept as low as possible, which means that companies can ensure consistent and stable IT operations.

Let automatics take over!
Save yourself the same work on a variety of systems and get time back - for the tasks that really require your skills.

Checking for completeness of the package files

Checking the new version and comparing it to the existing version (upgrade/downgrade option)

Backup/rollback option for SAP Kernel and  SAP Host Agents

Automatic restart of the affected SAP components

Parallel updates on all selected SAP systems

SAP KERNEL

SAP HOST AGENT

SAP DIAGNOSTIC AGENT

The SAP kernel is the central software component for the SAP Netweaver stack. Known errors and security gaps must be corrected at regular intervals by updating the operating system-dependent SAP kernel on the SAP systems. You only need to download the new SAP kernel package from the SAP support portal and upload it to automatics or make it available on a central file share. automatics takes care of all other tasks.

In addition to the SAP kernel, the SAP host agent and diagnostic agent patch including JVM are also supported.

Database security not only requires careful initial setup, but also ongoing checking for updates on errors and security gaps in the database systems. automatics is able to automatically distribute and patch patch files from SAP HANA DB, SAP MaxDB, SAP ASE, Oracle DB , MSSQL and IBM DB2 database systems. Your task is only to download and provide the update packages once.

DATABASES

OPERATING SYSTEMS

System administrators typically spend a lot of time manually performing OS patches due to dependencies with SAP systems. This process is not only time-consuming but also prone to human error. automatics, together with Ansible, offers the possibility of automating the entire OS patching process end-to-end. Administrators simply need to define the desired state of their infrastructure, and automatics with Ansible takes care of the rest.

DB Patch.png
bottom of page

top of page

PATCH-
MANAGEMENT

automatics ermöglicht das Kernel- und Datenbank-Patching in Sekunden.

Patch-Management

3, 2, 1, PATCH!

Das Patch-Management ist eine wichtige Säule der IT-Sicherheit. Regelmäßige Updates tragen dazu bei, den funktionsfähigen Zustand und die höchstmögliche Sicherheit der Systeme zu erhalten.

Darüber hinaus sind Patches auch erforderlich, um ein optimales Zusammenspiel zwischen Hard- und Software zu gewährleisten. Sicherheitsupdates sollten so zeitnah wie möglich auf den Systemen verteilt werden, um das Ausnutzen von Sicherheitslücken durch Dritte zu erschweren. 

Sowohl SAP, als auch andere Datenbankhersteller geben regelmäßig kritische Updates heraus, um Softwarefehler oder bekannte Schwachstellen zu beheben. Jedoch sind IT-Unternehmen aus einer Vielzahl von Gründen (Wartungsfenster, Durchlaufzeiten, Personalengpässe) oft nicht in der Lage, diese zeitgerecht zu installieren. 

Das betriebliche Sicherstellen der System-Aktualität ist ein Bereich, der ständige Aufmerksamkeit erfordert, insbesondere mit den unterschiedlichen von SAP unterstützten Datenbanken und der zunehmenden Verteilung von Datenbankumgebungen für hohe Verfügbarkeit. 

Patch Management ist ein mehrschichtiger Prozess, bei dem sämtliche Komponenten der SAP-Landschaft kontinuierlich mit aktuellen Updates versorgt werden müssen.

automatics bietet mit dem SAP- und Datenbank-Patchmanagement eine einfache Möglichkeit zur Verteilung und Installation von Patches, unter Berücksichtigung alle erforderlichen Package- und Versionsvalidierungen. 

Der Aufwand für das Ausrollen der Patches wird damit so gering wie möglich gehalten, wodurch Unternehmen einen durchgängigen und stabilen IT-Betrieb sicherstellen können.

Lassen Sie automatics übernehmen!
Ersparen Sie sich die gleichen Arbeiten auf einer Vielzahl an Systemen und holen Sie sich Zeit zurück - für die Tasks, die Ihre Skills wirklich erfordern.

Überprüfung auf Vollständigkeit der Package-Files

Prüfung der neuen Version und Vergleich zur bestehenden Version (Upgrade/Downgrade Möglichkeit)

Backup/Rollback Möglichkeit bei SAP Kernel und  SAP Host Agents

Automatischer Restart der betroffenen SAP-Komponenten

Parallele Updates auf allen ausgewählten SAP-Systemen

SAP KERNEL

SAP HOST AGENT

SAP DIAGNOSTIC AGENT

Der SAP-Kernel ist die zentrale Softwarekomponente für den SAP Netweaver Stack. Bekannte Fehler und Sicherheitslücken müssen in regelmäßigen Abständen durch Aktualisierung des betriebs-systemabhängigen SAP-Kernels auf den SAP-Systemen behoben werden. Sie brauchen nur das neue SAP-Kernel Package vom SAP Support-Portal herunterladen und es in automatics hochladen oder auf einem zentralen Fileshare bereitstellen. Alle anderen Aufgaben übernimmt automatics.

Neben dem SAP-Kernel wird auch der SAP Host Agent und Diagnostic Agent Patch inkl. JVM unterstützt.

Datenbanksicherheit erfordert nicht nur eine sorgfältige initiale Einrichtung, sondern auch eine laufende Prüfung auf Updates  zu Fehlern und Sicherheitslücken in den Datenbank-Systemen. automatics ist in der Lage, Patch-Files von SAP HANA DB, SAP MaxDB, SAP ASE, Oracle DB, MSSQL und IBM DB2 Datenbank-Systemen automatisiert zu verteilen und zu patchen. Ihre Aufgabe ist dabei lediglich das einmalige Herunterladen und Bereitstellen der Update-Packages.

DATENBANKEN

BETRIEBSSYSTEME

Systemadministratoren verbringen in der Regel viel Zeit damit, OS Patches aufgrund der Abhängigkeiten mit SAP-Systemen manuell durchzuführen. Dieser Prozess ist nicht nur zeitaufwändig, sondern auch anfällig für menschliche Fehler. automatics bietet gemeinsam mit Ansible die Möglichkeit den gesamten OS-Patch-Prozess End-to-End zu automatisieren. Administratoren müssen lediglich den gewünschten Zustand ihrer Infrastruktur definieren, und automatics mit Ansible kümmert sich um den Rest.

DB-Patch.png
bottom of page